2023 European Physical Society Hannes Alfven Prize bestowed on Prof. Pisin Chen



Pisin Chen, Chee-Chun Leung Distinguished Chair Professor of Cosmology and Director of Leung Center for Cosmology and Particle Astrophysics (LeCosPA)

The 2023 European Physical Society Division of Plasma Physics (EPS-DPP) Hannes Alfvén Prize is jointly awarded to professors Pisin Chen (National Taiwan University), Jamie Rosenzweig and Chandrashekhar Joshi (both at UCLA) for proposing, demonstrating, and conducting impressive ground-breaking experiments on plasma wakefield accelerators (PWFA) driven by particle beams. The three winners have contributed to different, complementary aspects of the field: they have developed the theoretical concepts, conducted the pioneering demonstration experiments, and guided the applications of this acceleration technique. (http://plasma.ciemat.es/eps/)

Prof. Pisin Chen is the NTU Chee-Chun Leung Distinguished Chair Professor of Cosmology and the Founding Director of Leung Center for Cosmology and Particle Astrophysics (LeCosPA). He is also the Distinguished Chair Professor of the Physics Department. This is yet one more recognition to Prof. Chen's exceptional scientific contributions after his receiving the Blaise Pascal Chair bestowed by the Government of Ile de France in 2018.

The citation of Prof. Chen's accomplishments states: "Prof. Pisin Chen is regarded as the inventor of PWFA and played a key role in the theoretical development of the plasma wakefield accelerator principle, energy transfer and beam loading, and plasma lenses at the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory in the 1980s. The extreme gradients and energy gains obtainable from PWFA was a pathbreaking innovation at the energy frontier, and the extreme focusing with plasma lenses was a pathbreaking innovation at the luminosity frontier. He led an experiment at SLAC that successfully demonstrated the plasma lense principle as predicted."

The 2023 EPS-DPP Hannes Alfven Prize award ceremony was held in Bordeaux, France, on July 3. Prof. Pisin Chen received the prize and delivered a speech at the ceremony.



The 2023 European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division Hannes Alfven Prize award ceremony was held in Bordeaux, France on July 3. This year's Alfven Prize was awarded to Prof. Pisin Chen of National Taiwan University, and Prof. Jamie Rosenzweig and Prof. Chandrasekhar Joshi, both of UCLA.



Recognized as the inventor of the Plasma Wakefield Accelerator, Prof. Pisin Chen was the first among the three recipients to give the speech.



A snap shot of the audience during Prof. Pisin Chen's address.



Prof. Pisin Chen delivering his speech.



The front side of the Alfven Prize Medal is the head of Prof. Hannes Alfven, the 1970 Nobel Prize in Physics Laureate.



The back side of the Medal States: "For Outstanding Contributions to Plasma Physics".